top of page
Deborah Fagnan

September Preschool Storytime: Fall

Updated: Aug 20, 2019

Introduction: This storytime is developed specially for preschool children ages 4 & 5 and their parent/caregiver. Enjoy 1 hour of books, songs, rhymes, socialization, and a craft with other young children and their parent/caregiver. Each session of preschool storytime consists of a variety of activities that incorporate reading, talking, writing, singing, and playing. Each week we will introduce new ideas while building knowledge from prior storytimes this year. No worries, if this is your first time here, welcome. We are glad to meet you.



Date: Every Saturday

Time: 11:00 a.m.

Age Range: 4 and 5 years olds

Skills Supported: Phonological Awareness, vocabulary, socialization, reading, writing, and listening.

Preschool Standards:

Reading Literature: Prepare children for listening to a new book during read alouds by building on background knowledge (e.g., make appropriate connections to children’s work and interests, predict topic by looking at front cover illustration, look at a few illustrations throughout the book to build anticipation, identify title, author, and illustrator and the roles of each)

Vocabulary Acquisition and Use:

Begin to determine the meaning of new words and phrases introduced through preschool reading and content.

Letter Knowledge: Children begin to demonstrate an understanding of beginning phonics and word skills. Associate many letters with their names and their most frequent sounds. Phonological Awareness: Draw children’s attention to the sounds children hear in words (e.g., by asking for the children whose name starts with "A" sound). Engage children in activities, read storybooks and poems, sing songs and chants that have repetitive patterns, alliterations, rhymes, and refrains that are engaging and playful.

Social/Emotional: Develop children's awareness of a wide range of feeling with appropriate vocabulary during storytelling. Engage appropriately with peers and librarian.

Information Books: Actively participate in read aloud experiences using age appropriate information books Compare and contrast favorite story books and favorite informational texts and discuss which book is fiction (e.g., tells a story) and which book is information (explains or shares real information).

Frequency: Weekly

Attendance: 20 children and their parent/caregiver

Staff or Volunteer: 1 staff member and 1 volunteer

Format: Drop-in

Budget: $6.00

Supplies:

  • White Paper Plates

  • Construction Paper: Fall Colors

  • Glue Sticks

  • 20 books of Fall Is Not Easy by Marty Kelley (Request through library consortium)

  • How Do You Know It's Fall? by Lisa M. Herrington

  • Bubbles

Fall Leaf Template (located on Parent/Caregiver Resource Pathfinder page

Recommended Books:

  • Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert

  • There was an Old Lady Who Swallowed Some Leaves! by Lucille Colandro

 

1. Introduction: Welcome to preschool storytime. My name is Ms. Debbie. I am so glad to see you today. I am so happy to see adults in our program today. It is more fun for your children, when you are here with them to enjoy reading, writing, singing, talking and playing together.


2. Opening Song


(Credit: The Kilboomers: Kids Music Channel, 2015, August 4).

Lyrics

Hello, hello, how are you?

Hello, hello, how are you? Hello, hello, how are you? How are you today? I am fine, I am great. I am fine, I am great. I am fine, I am great. I'm very well today. Hello, hello, how are you?

Hello, hello, how are you? Hello, hello, how are you? How are you today? I am hungry, I am tired.

I am hungry, I am tired. I am hungry, I am tired. I'm not so good today. Hello, hello, how are you?

Hello, hello, how are you?

Hello, hello, how are you?

I am very good today.

3. Early Literacy Aside: Explain

"Read early and read often. The early years are critical to developing a lifelong love of reading. It's never too early to begin reading to your child" (Reading Rockets, 2013).


4. Theme Talk

Today we are going to be sharing books about the season of Fall. Another name for this season is Autumn. The season of fall just started last week. Who can tell me what happens to the weather in fall? What types of clothes do you wear in the fall?


5. Early Literacy Aside: Example

Today's early literacy component is print conventions and awareness which is knowing how books work. To help children learn, we will give each child a copy of the first book we are reading. To help your child learn that books are more than pictures, you can run your finger under the words as I read it. This will help children learn that words are part of many books as well as understanding the direction of print, and reading. You can practice this when you read books to your child too.


6. Book Shared: Fall Is Not Easy by Marty Kelley


















(Credit Image: Goodreads, 2018)


7. Activity:

Before we recite the rhyme, what types of cloths do we wear in fall? Show children page 10 in the information book we just read: It provides a picture of a boy and his father dressed for a walk in the fall) Why do we wear different clothes in the fall?

Autumn Rhyme:

Autumn winds begin to blow. (blow)

Colored leaves fall fast and slow. (fall motion with fingers)

Twirling, whirling, all around, (turn self around)

Till at last, they touch the ground. (fall to the ground)

(unknown author)


8. Informational Book:

How Do You Know It's Fall? by Lisa M. Herrington

This is a nonfiction book. A nonfiction book is a book that tells us about real things.


9. Activity:

Children will stand up and sing:

Shake Your Sillies Out

I've gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out Shake, shake, shake my sillies out Shake, shake, shake my sillies out And wiggle my waggles away!

I've gotta clap, clap, clap my crazies out Clap, clap, clap my crazies out Clap, clap, clap my crazies out And wiggle my waggles away!

I've gotta jump, jump, jump my jiggles out Jump, jump, jump my jiggles out Jump, jump, jump my jiggles out And wiggle my waggles away!

I've gotta yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out Yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out Yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out And wiggle my waggles away!

I've gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out Shake, shake, shake my sillies out Shake, shake, shake my sillies out And wiggle my waggles away And wiggle my waggles away!


10. Information Book:

September by Julie Murray

January is the first month of the year.

February is the (hesitate to get children to answer) ______ month of the year.

March is the (hesitate to get children to answer) ______ month of the year.

April is the (hesitate to get children to answer)________ month of the year.

May is the (hesitate to get children to answer) __________ month of the year.

June is the (hesitate to get children to answer)__________ month of the year.

July is the (hesitate to get children to answer)__________ month of the year.

August is the (hesitate to get children to answer)__________ month of the year.

That makes September the (hesitate to get children to answer) _________ month of the year.

This book will tell us real things about the month of September, like holiday's and the weather.


11. Early Literacy Aside: Empower

Parents, words are everywhere. Pointing out words as you read stories will help children make real connections. This will also help your child develop print awareness, which will help them learn how to read. I hope you can stay for our craft after storytime today. If you can't, please take the craft kit home with you to do at home.


12. Closing Song:



GOODBYE SONG: Goodbye Bubble

Goodbye bubbles, (repeat)

Time to go, (repeat)

I will help you (repeat)

With a blow! (repeat) Librarian and volunteer will be blowing bubbles as we sing the Goodbye Bubbles song.

13. End of the Storytime Activity:

Prep:

Cut out hole for wreath in paper plate.

Cut out leaves (3 sheets work well with one wreath). I used yellow, green and orange cardstock.


Instructions:

Have kids use paint dots


Children will make a fall wreath. Children will select various colors of leaves to glue on a wreath made from a paper plate. Leaves were cut out ahead of time out of construction paper. Wreath was made using a paper plate. Template to make this project can be found on the Parent/Caregiver Resource Pathfinder page: Fall Leaf Wreath Craft

 


References:


Childrensmusic. (2016, January 16). See you later, alligator: Goodbye song. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/UQfvAlmr5g0


Fagnan, D. (2018, October 11). Fall Leaf Wreath Craft. [Digital Image].


Goodreads. (2018). Fall Is Not Easy. [Digital Image}. Retrieved from https://www.goodreads.com/book/photo/973419.Fall_Is_Not_Easy




Reading Rockets. (2013, December 20). Reading Tips for Parents of Preschoolers. Retrieved from http://www.readingrockets.org/article/reading-tips-parents-preschoolers

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page