top of page
Writer's picturedeborahfagnan

October Baby Lap-sit Storytime

Updated: Nov 30, 2018

Introduction: This Storytime is developed specially for our young patrons from birth to 1 years old and their caregivers. Enjoy 30 minutes of books, songs, rhymes, fingerplays, and socialization with other young children and their caregivers. Each session of Lapsit Story Time consists of a variety of activities that incorporate reading, writing, singing, talking and playing.

Date: Every Thursday

Time: 11:00 a.m.

Age Range: Infant to 1 years old.

Skills Supported: Develop phonological awareness, motor skills, visual tracking skills, and socialization

Frequency: Weekly

Attendance: 20 children and their parent/caregiver

Staff or Volunteer Needed: 1 staff member, 1 volunteer

Format: Drop-in

Budget: $28.00

  • Pumpkin Duckies: Oriental Trading $6.69/dozen . $13.38 (one time purchase)

  • Literacy Training Flyer for parent/caregiver $2.00

  • Bubbles: .99

  • Bright Mini Maracas $5.09/dozen. $11.00 (one time purchase)

Supplies:

  • Bright Mini Maracas

  • Literacy Tips Flyer

  • Books: Duck & Goose: Find a Pumpkin by Tad Hills, and Five Little Pumpkins by Butler

  • Bubbles

  • Pumpkin Duckies



 

1. Introduction:

Welcome to lap-sit Storytime. My name is Ms. Debbie. I am so glad to see you today. Our Storytime is designed to be participated by everyone. We will share books, rhymes, and songs with your children. We encourage everyone to participate, but no worries if this doesn't happen. Sometimes when a child sees you participate, they might join in, but if your child is not in the mood, that is okay too. Our Storytime can tend to be a little chaotic, but that is okay too. If your child becomes disruptive, please take them outside the program room and then join us again when your child has settled down. This is normal, it is part of the process. So let's start with our opening song.


2. Opening Song:

Lyrics

Hello, hello, how are you? Hello, hello, how are you?

Hello, hello, how are you?

How are you today?


I am fine, I am great.

I am fine, I am great.

I am fine, I am great.

I'm very well today.


Hello, hello, how are you? Hello, hello, how are you?

Hello, hello, how are you?

How are you today?


I am hungry, I am tired. I am hungry, I am tired.

I am hungry, I am tired.

I'm not so good today.


Hello, hello, how are you? Hello, hello, how are you? Hello, hello, how are you? I am very good today.

3. Early Literacy Aside

Parents, our early literacy tip of the day is on phonological awareness. This skill helps children learn to hear the smaller sounds and words. When you play, sing, and talk through books, songs, rhymes and fingerplays, you are helping your children develop phonological awareness. With this skill, children will learn to sound out the words when they are learning to read. Today, I will point out some things you can do to support this skill. Today, we are going to talk about pumpkins.

4. Action Rhyme

I'm a Little Pumpkin

Tune of I'm a Little Teapot


I'm a little pumpkin

Orange and round.


Here is my stem

I grew in the ground.


When I get all cut up

Don't you shout!


Just open me up

And Scoop me out!


5. Boardbook:

Each parent/caregiver is given one copy of the book. The goal is for everyone to read the book together. The books were ordered through our library consortium.



Book Shared: Duck & Goose: Find a Pumpkin by Tad Hills.

Parents, let's read the book all together. Your baby will love to hear the sound of your voice while you are reading the story.

6. Shakers:

Shaker Song - Sung to the tune of “London Bridge”

Shake your shakers, shake, shake, shake,

Shake, shake, shake, shake, shake, shake

Shake your shakers, shake, shake, shake,

Shake your shakers!

Other Verses:

Shake your shakers high, high, high,

Shake your shakers  low, low, low,

Shake your shakers  fast, fast, fast,

Shake your shakers  slow, slow, slow"


7. Sign Language:

The Diaper Song


When my diaper’s on, I like it dry, And when it’s wet, I get upset. When my diaper’s on I like it dry, And when it’s wet, I get upset. I want it off, I cry, “Please change me!”


These are short videos to show you the sign for the words in bold for The Diaper Song. If you would like to learn other words in sign language, click here for the Sign Language Dictionary.



The sign for "diaper".








The sign for "upset".








The sign for "off".








The sign for "cry".







8. Action Song:



Lyrics:

Can you make a happy face, happy face, happy face? Can you make a happy face? Jack-o’-lantern.

Can you make an angry face, angry face, angry face? Can you make an angry face? Jack-o’-lantern.

Jack-o’-lantern. Jack-o’-lantern. Jack-o’-lantern. Jack-o’-lantern.

Can you make a scared face, scared face, scared face? Can you make a scared face? Jack-o’-lantern.

Can you make a sad face, sad face, sad face? Can you make a sad face? Jack-o’-lantern.

Can you make a happy face, happy face, happy face? I can make a happy face. Jack-oooooooooooooooooooo’-lantern!


9. Action Song:



I'm a little pumpkin Tune: I'm a little teapot

I'm a little pumpkin round and stout (hold arms to form a circle) packed full of seeds that you can scoop out (pretend to scoop seeds) When I get all carved up (pretend to carve pumpkin) then I'll be The cutest jack - o- lantern you ever did see.

10. Ball:


Today, we have pumpkin duckies to play with. Can you hold them? Let's all feel the balls. What do they feel like? What sounds do they make when you squeeze them? How can you play with them? What shape are they?








11. Early Literacy Aside: Example

As you play with the balls with your children, they are learning how to express themselves. Play helps children learn how the world works. As you see it requires only a small space. In addition, you don't need expensive or special toys.

12. Action Song:



This Little Piggy

This little piggy went to market, this little piggy stayed home. This little piggy had roast beef, this little piggy had none. And this little piggy went “Wee wee wee” all the way home. (Starting with the big toe, hold each toe in turn. One the last line, tickle baby’s foot or wiggle the littlest toe.)


13. Book:


Five Little Pumpkins by Butler












14. Early Literacy Aside: Empower

"Books with bright and bold or high-contrast illustrations are easier for young babies to see, and will grab their attention. Books made of cloth or soft plastic (for the bathtub) or "board books" with sturdy cardboard pages are easier for a baby to handle" (Reading Rockets, 2018). Enjoy looking at the new board books we have. Many are on the theme of pumpkins we read about today.

15. Closing Song:



GOODBYE SONG: Goodbye Bubble Goodbye bubbles, (repeat) Time to go, (repeat) I will help you (repeat) With a blow! (repeat)

Librarian and volunteer will be blowing bubbles as we sing the Goodbye Bubbles song.

16. End of Storytime Activity:

Toys and some of our new board books are placed on the storytime rug for children and parent/caregivers to talk, sing, read, and play. Crayons are placed at the arts and crafts tables for children to color a pumpkin. Children that can grasp a crayon could go to the arts and crafts table where we have a pumpkin to color. Line and circles are the foundations for letters.


17. Takeaway

Parents are provided a early literacy handout.

 

Citation for Images:


Berks County Public Library. (2018, April 20). Baby Lapsit Reading. [Digital Image]. Retrieved from https://www.berkslibraries.org/events/baby-lapsits-storytime-


Goodreads. (2018). Duck and Goose: Find a Pumpkin. [Digital Image]. Retrieved from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6633762-duck-goose-find-a-pumpkin


Oriental Trading. (2018). Pumpkin Duckies. [Digital Image]. Retrieved from https://tinyurl.com/ydggrj9n.


TitleSource 360. (2018). Five Little Pumpkins. [Digital Image].

40 views0 comments

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page